Skip to content

A tribute to Sherry Quinn (Haverhill Elementary)

March 18, 2011

There is a wonderful teacher at Haverhill Elem., Sherry Quinn. She teaches 3rd grade and I have been blessed enough to have had all three of my children in her room. Mrs. Quinn has a reputation that goes well beyond just the kids that are currently in 3rd grade. I have mentioned her name to former students who are in college and remember her as a favorite teacher. She is the kindest person and really loves what she does. My children have grown so much just by being able to be her student. She has taught them the fundamental lessons they need in their grade but she has taught them so much more, kindness with themselves and others, excitement to learn and most of all she has instilled in them the feeling that teachers really do care about the students as individuals. She regularly receives visits from past students (mine included) and in my experience this only happens if a teacher has left an imprint on a child so much that they can’t wait to come back and share their current accomplishments with that teacher that has touched their lives. Sherry Quinn is that teacher. The one we all have that we remember for the rest of our lives and I feel lucky that we have her right here in Portage!

-Michelle Hawkey

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Gerstner permalink
    March 23, 2011 3:52 pm

    I am so proud to call Sherry Quinn my mom! Teachers like her are few and far between. She truly loves her students and puts 110% in every day.

    • Kayla Snow permalink
      January 19, 2012 8:05 pm

      im really happy to say that she was one of my favorite 3rd Grade teachers that i had i use to always go visit and say hi we had some good years together and thank you for always being there for me when i had bad days.

Leave a comment